Messages from Dignitaries

Message from the Mayor of Québec City, Bruno Marchand

Bruno Marchand
Bruno Marchand

World Heritage Sites are the envy of all. From Istanbul to Havana, and Quito to Shibam, they attract families, friends, and businesspeople eager to explore their rich history and spectacular heritage. As international travel gradually resumes, we can’t wait to welcome back visitors of all ages from around the globe as they return to drink in the sights and stories our cities have to share.

Even as we wait, however, we should bear in mind the hard-earned lesson brought home over these past two years by the pandemic-induced collapse of the tourism industry: our heritage cities, as fabulous as they may be, belong first and foremost to the people who live there. Without them, they have no heart, no soul. Without them, their spirit fades.

That’s why I’m so pleased with the theme of this 16th Congress of the Organization of World Heritage Cities (OWHC) we are hosting in Québec City this coming September. Enhancing Liveability in World Heritage Cities is a real challenge for OWHC’s more than 300 member cities. The challenge is all the more salient in this post-pandemic period as we search for new and original ways to revive our tourism industry while at the same time safeguarding the authenticity of our historic cities and districts.

I look forward to joining in the discussions on how to make heritage both a gift from the past and a resource for the future.

See you in September for the 16th OWHC Congress and the 30th anniversary of our organization!

Message from the President, Jacek Majchrowski

Jacek Majchrowski
Jacek Majchrowski

In 1991, Québec City hosted the very first International Symposium of World Heritage Cities. 30 years later, the fact that Québec City, OWHC’s headquarters, is to host the 16th OWHC World Congress in 2022, gains a deeper symbolism. The jubilee year and the special location will undeniably make for a historic meeting of city representatives. Congresses invariably encourage exchanges of experiences, inspire reflection and provide guidance in our search for sustainability and attempts at fully tapping the potential of heritage as a developmental resource. Management of world heritage sites and protection of their historic landscapes coupled with meaningful community engagement have always presented challenges unto their own. Now, in addition to climate change and enhancing our quality of life, we are all faced with new challenges and threats such as a global tourism crisis - one of the most important industries of historical cities.

Enhancing Livability in World Heritage Cities – the Congress’ leading theme selected during the 2019 Kraków event, is an attempt at addressing all of these issues. It focuses on the need to strike a balance between contrasting fundamentals and initiate an informed debate. I do encourage you to join us at the 16th OWHC World Congress! It will be an excellent opportunity to apply the potential, knowledge and experience of the OWHC members for the benefit of our local communities.

Government of Québec marks OWHC World Congress

The Government of Québec is proud to partner with the Organization of World Heritage Cities (OWHC), which will be holding its 16th World Congress in the Capitale-Nationale region.

The event will be a great way to showcase the city of Québec, recognized as one of the world’s most beautiful cities, and particularly historic Old Québec, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

OWHC is dedicated to helping member cities adapt and improve their management practices in keeping with UNESCO requirements for World Heritage Cities. Its biennial congress brings together hundreds of delegates. Of the themes suggested for this year’s event, economic recovery, the health crisis, and the climate emergency are of particular interest to the Government of Québec. And because this congress will promote economic recovery and business tourism and generate direct economic spinoffs for the host region, the city of Québec sees this as a special opportunity to shine on the international stage.

We applaud international organizations such as OWHC that make such valuable contributions in so many spheres, including the preservation and protection of heritage, and we wish every success to OWHC and Québec as they organize the 16th OWHC World Congress!

Geneviève Guilbault
Geneviève Guilbault
Deputy Premier
Ministère de la Sécurité publique
Minister responsible for the Capitale-Nationale Region
Nadine Girault
Nadine Girault
Minister of International Relations and La Francophonie
Minister responsible for the Laurentides region
Nathalie Roy
Nathalie Roy
Ministère de la Culture et des Communications

Welcome from the Honourable Steven Guilbeault
Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada

Steven Guilbault
Steven Guilbeault

As Minister responsible for Parks Canada and on behalf of the Government of Canada, I am pleased to welcome you to the 16th World Congress of the Organization of World Heritage Cities (OWHC) in Québec.

Parks Canada is Canada’s representative to the UNESCO World Heritage Convention. In this role, Parks Canada supports and advises managers of Canada’s World Heritage Sites, as well as sites on the List of Proposed World Heritage Sites in Canada, in the preparation of their nominations. The Agency also contributes to the conservation and presentation of the world’s cultural and heritage treasures. Since Parks Canada joined the World Heritage Convention in 1976, twenty of our sites have been added to the UNESCO World Heritage List.

World Heritage Cities are home to the world’s most incredible urban heritage achievements, and are among humanity’s most outstanding accomplishments. The Historic District of Old Québec World Heritage Site is clearly one of them and is an exemplary site to host the OWHC Congress.

I wish you an enjoyable and memorable congress. I’m confident that in the coming days, attendees will have plenty of opportunities to take full advantage of the warm welcome and unique heritage that Old Québec has to offer.

Mots des dignitaires

Message du maire de Québec, Bruno Marchand

Bruno Marchand
Bruno Marchand

Les sites du patrimoine mondial font l’envie du monde entier. D’Istanbul à La Havane, de Quito à Shibam, familles, amis et gens d’affaires accourent vers ces lieux afin d’admirer l’héritage du temps et des scènes grandioses. Alors que le tourisme international reprend progressivement, c’est avec une grande frénésie que nous attendons petits et grands venus des quatre coins du globe s’abreuver des vues et des récits que renferment nos cités.

À l’aube de ce retour foisonnant des touristes en nos enceintes, il importe toutefois de nous rappeler le constat durement imposé par la halte touristique des deux dernières années : nos lieux historiques, si fabuleux soient-ils, appartiennent d’abord et avant tout aux citoyens qui les habitent. Ils en sont l’âme et la couleur. Sans eux, le charme de nos sites s’évanouit.

Je suis donc très heureux du thème de ce 16e congrès de l’Organisation des villes du patrimoine mondial (OVPM) que nous accueillerons à Québec en septembre. Améliorer la qualité de vie dans les villes du patrimoine mondial est un réel défi pour les quelque 300 villes membres de l’OVPM. Ce défi est d’autant plus d’actualité en cette période post-pandémie alors que nous devons redoubler d’originalité afin de relancer notre secteur touristique tout en préservant l’authenticité de ces cités et quartiers historiques.

C’est avec grand intérêt que je joindrai ma voix aux discussions visant à faire du patrimoine à la fois un cadeau du passé et une richesse pour l’avenir.

Je vous donne donc rendez-vous en septembre pour le 16e congrès de l’OVPM et le 30e anniversaire de notre organisation!

Mot du président, Jacek Majchrowski

Jacek Majchrowski
Jacek Majchrowski

En 1991, Québec accueillait le tout premier Colloque international des villes du patrimoine mondial. Le fait que la capitale québécoise, siège social de l’OVPM, organise trente ans plus tard le Congrès mondial de l’OVPM de 2022 revêt donc une signification toute particulière. Cette symbolique du passage du temps et le site retenu feront assurément de ce congrès un événement mémorable!

Invariablement, nos congrès encouragent les échanges d’expériences, inspirent la réflexion et nous guident dans notre quête de durabilité et notre volonté d’exploiter pleinement le potentiel du patrimoine comme outil de développement. La gestion des sites du patrimoine mondial et la protection de leurs paysages historiques, jumelées à une mobilisation porteuse des collectivités, ont toujours présenté leur lot de défis.

Aujourd’hui, aux changements climatiques et à la valorisation de la qualité de vie s’ajoutent des problèmes et menaces d’un nouveau genre, comme la crise internationale du tourisme, un secteur névralgique pour une ville historique. Le thème Améliorer la qualité de vie dans les villes du patrimoine mondial, choisi lors du congrès de Cracovie en 2019, nous convie à nous pencher sur tous ces enjeux, et plus précisément sur la nécessité de trouver un équilibre entre des principes fondamentaux opposés et d’engager un débat éclairé.

Soyez des nôtres pour le 16e Congrès de l’OVPM! Saisissez cette formidable occasion de mettre le potentiel, le savoir et l’expérience des membres de l’OVPM au service de vos collectivités.

Le gouvernement du Québec souligne le Congrès mondial de l’Organisation des villes du patrimoine mondial

Le gouvernement du Québec est fier de s’associer à l’Organisation des villes du patrimoine mondial (OVPM) pour la tenue de son 16e Congrès mondial, dans la région de la Capitale-Nationale.

Cet événement permet de mettre en valeur la ville de Québec, reconnue comme l’une des plus belles villes du monde, de même que l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec, inscrit comme joyau du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

L’OVPM est vouée à aider les villes membres à adapter et à perfectionner leur mode de gestion en fonction des exigences inhérentes à leur reconnaissance par l’UNESCO. Son congrès biennal rassemble plusieurs centaines de congressistes. Parmi les thématiques suggérées cette année, la relance économique, la crise sanitaire et l’urgence climatique intéressent particulièrement le gouvernement du Québec. Et parce que ce congrès favorisera la relance économique et le tourisme d’affaires et qu’il générera des retombées économiques directes sur son territoire, Québec y voit une occasion unique d’accroître son positionnement et son rayonnement à l’international.

Nous saluons les organisations internationales comme celle-ci qui se démarquent dans de nombreux domaines, dont la préservation et la protection du patrimoine, et nous souhaitons un immense succès aux organisateurs du 16e Congrès mondial de l’OVPM, soit la ville de Québec et l’OVPM!

Geneviève Guilbault
Geneviève Guilbault
Vice-première ministre
Ministre de la Sécurité publique
Ministre responsable de la région de la Capitale-Nationale
Nadine Girault
Nadine Girault
Ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie
Ministre responsable de la région des Laurentides
Nathalie Roy
Nathalie Roy
Ministre de la Culture et des Communications

Bienvenue de l'honorable Steven Guilbeault
Ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada

Steven Guilbault
Steven Guilbeault

En tant que ministre responsable de Parcs Canada et au nom du gouvernement du Canada, je suis heureux de vous souhaiter la bienvenue au 16e Congrès mondial de l’Organisation des villes du patrimoine mondial (OVPM) à Québec.

Parcs Canada est le représentant du Canada à la Convention du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Dans ce rôle, Parcs Canada appuie et conseille les gestionnaires des sites du patrimoine mondial au Canada, ainsi que ceux qui figurent sur la Liste des sites proposés du patrimoine mondial au Canada au moment de la préparation de leur nomination. L’Agence contribue aussi à la conservation et à la présentation des trésors culturels et patrimoniaux du monde. Depuis que Parcs Canada a joint la Convention du patrimoine mondial en 1976, vingt de nos sites ont été ajoutés à la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO.

Les villes du patrimoine mondial font l’objet des plus incroyables réalisations patrimoniales urbaines du monde : elles comptent parmi les accomplissements les plus exceptionnels de l’humanité. Le site du patrimoine mondial de l’Arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec en fait sans aucun doute partie et est un site exemplaire pour recevoir le congrès de l’OVPM.

Je vous souhaite un congrès agréable et mémorable. Je suis convaincu que ceux et celles qui y participent ne manqueront pas d’occasions dans les prochains jours de profiter pleinement de l’accueil chaleureux et du patrimoine unique qu’offre le Vieux Québec.